Honoring Educators

The Martha Holden Jennings Foundation recognizes that Deep Learning and Excellent Teaching starts at the classroom level. The Ohio public school teachers and educators recognized here have demonstrated a commitment to those two themes. Their voices about what is important to prepare students for the future is echoed through their exemplary work.

Please join us in honoring those who have set an example by pursuing and implementing excellent teaching and deep learning practices.

Educator Awards

Each year the Martha Holden Jennings Foundation recognizes and rewards a group of Ohio’s most effective educators by presenting four individuals with top educator awards. The honors are bestowed at the Foundation’s annual Educators Retreat.

The 2016 awardees are: Keri Stoyle, Master Teacher Award, Leighton Elementary School, Aurora City Schools; David Murduck, Arthur S. Holden Teacher Award for Excellence in Science Education, Champion Middle School, Champion Local Schools; Shannon Wetzler, George B. Chapman, Jr. Teacher Award for Excellence in Mathematics Education, Meadowbrook High School, Rolling Hills Local Schools; and Michael Zalar, Ohio Superintendent Outstanding Performance Award, North Olmsted City Schools


Pictured (l. to r): Michael Zalar, Keri Stoyle,
and David Murduck

Shannon Wetzler

2015 Awardees

Mary Ronan, Ohio Superintendent Outstanding Performance Award
Rebecca Rice, Master Teacher
Beth Holland, George B. Chapman, Jr. Teacher Award for Excellence in Mathematics Education
Ann Rougier, Arthur S. Holden Teacher Award for Excellence in Science Education

Jennings Fellows

These master teachers were nominated by their districts to participate in the Jennings Educators Institute in the fall of 2015 and took the extra steps to put what they learned into practice and to reflect as a professional learning community. In addition to the three weekend workshop meetings as part of the Institute, the Fellows attended a session in December to collaborate with professional peers and to plan a unit for implementation.

To be a Jennings Fellow, teachers were required to design and implement lessons incorporating the ideas presented by the Jennings Institute. Additionally, they were required to reflect on the experience and present to their professional peers about how the teaching strategies in the newly developed units impacted students and enhanced their own personal practice to better engage learners. The presentations relied on a strong reflection component regarding the experience. Some examples of reflective questions included: What were the challenges? What was difficult? What was unexpected? Were there issues with implementation? What did you learn? How did this impact your practice? How will you continue to use these ideas, and perhaps revise more lessons?

In April the group met collectively once again for a culminating event where they shared the results.Their presentations were accompanied by a poster documenting their experience preparing and implementing the Jennings-informed lessons.


 2016 Jennings Fellows

Jennifer Ahlfors, Hayes Intermediate School, South Western City Schools
Elaine Blakely, Northland High School, Columbus City Schools
Susan Deacon, Johnnycake Corners Elementary School, Olentangy Local Schools
Barbara Demming, Monroe Elementary School, Jonathan Alder Local Schools
Sherese Dent, Tussing Elementary School, Pickerington Local Schools
Rae Ann Dollmatsch, Tussing Elementary, Pickerington Local Schools
Mallory Farquhar, Riverside Elementary School, Dublin City Schools
Amber Harris, Bloom Carroll Middle School, Bloom-Carroll Local Schools
Meghan Johnson, Hayes Intermediate School, South Western City Schools
Rachel Jones, Fairbanks Elementary School, Fairbanks Local Schools
Kathleen Kleemeyer, Northland High School, Columbus City Schools
Susan Kucharek, Worthington Kilbourne High School, Worthington City Schools
Rebecca Kelly Ondo, Woodward Park Middle School, Columbus City Schools
JeNell Roberts, Woodward Park Middle School, Columbus City Schools
Lauren Scott, Glacier Ridge Elementary, Dublin City Schools
Deborah Shepherd, Northland High School, Columbus City Schools
Rebecca Thompson, Centerburg Elementary School, Centerburg Local Schools


Jennings Fellows sharing final projects in April


Teachers Awarded Grants-to-Educators 

Sam Appleby, Akron Public Schools
Terri Berning, Marion Local Schools
Brittany Beutel, Maple Heights City Schools*
Steve Blatnica, Berea City Schools
Vince Bonvissuto, Chardon Local Schools*
Phillip Borkow, Hamilton Local Schools*
Diane Burkhart, Switzerland of Ohio Local Schools
Sandra Cates, Loudonville-Perrysville Exempted Village
Holly Christie, Mansfield City Schools
Steven Clark, Shelby City Schools
Michael Clements, Willoughby-Eastlake City Schools
Toby Clifford, Akron Public Schools
Fran Compton, Warren City Schools
Leah Condon, Jackson-Milton Local Schools*
Jill Cook, Northeastern Local Schools
Julie Cordonnier, New London Local Schools
Barb Currey, Cuyahoga Heights Local Schools
Jon Darkow, Seneca East Local Schools
Mary Ann Davis, Lowellville Local Schools
Jennifer Domo, Union Scioto Local Schools
Kellie Ehlers, Worthington City Schools*
John Farrell, Aurora City Schools
Sue Foley, South Euclid Lyndhurst City Schools
Shaun Gentry, Jackson City Schools
Ann Gerber, Norwayne Local Schools
Lee Gibson, Barberton City Schools
Zach Griffith, Akron Public Schools
Kaycee Lyn Hallett, Mohawk Local Schools
Beth Haring, Lordstown Local Schools
Jack Hatert, Yellow Springs Exempted Village Schools
Stephanie Holsinger, Marion City Schools
Jessica Hrubik, Champion Local Schools
Karen Hubbell, Cleveland Metropolitan Schools
Rhonda Inkrott, Miller City New Cleveland Local Schools
Corie Kallay, Fairport Harbor Exempted Village Schools
David Kaser, Barberton City Schools
Michelle Koontz, Barberton City Schools
Mark Kotlarz, Maple Heights City Schools
Michelle Kravetz, Streetsboro City Schools
Tamara Langston, Fairlawn Local Schools*
Hong Le, Hudson City Schools*
Lynette Lewis, Marysville Exempted Village Schools
Kimberlee Martin, Akron Public Schools
Courtenay McMichael, Antwerp Local Schools
Kirsten McPeck, River View Local Schools
Pamela Meadows, Upper Arlington City Schools*
Jackie Mercer, Crestview Local Schools
Rachele Mielke, Perry Local Schools
Andrea Miller, Hancock County Educational Service Center
Marlo Miller, Lowellville Local Schools
Kati Mullet, Pickerington Local Schools
Rebecca Nezbeth, Rootstown Local Schools
Karen Lee Pavlansky, Niles City Schools
Heidi Anne Preising, Jackson Local Schools
Dawna Rappach, Mahoning County Educational Service Center
Susan Reese, Shaker Heights City Schools
Beth Rhomberg, Riverside Local Schools
Carl Schopf, North Olmsted City Schools
Fawn Schultz, Indian Lake Local Schools
Andy Slack, Fairview Park City Schools
Rachel Smith, Youngstown Community School
Julia Sommer, Marion Local Schools
Sara Stahler, Upper Scioto Valley Local Schools
Dannita Stanley, Maple Heights City Schools
Timothy Paul Sullivan, Mogadore Local Schools
Danna Tenorio, Maple Heights City Schools*
Shannon Turner, Bellevue City Schools
Christine Vermillion, Madison Local Schools
Denise Ward, United Local Schools
Jill Weaver, Valley View Local Schools*
Jessica Wills, Hamilton Local Schools*

*Educators who received recognition in 2016 as Excellent Teachers of Science or Mathematics or as a Master Teacher